Any former or current IB students here?

Discussion in 'School Work Help' started by ceetal, Feb 1, 2009.

1. ceetal

ceetal Well-Known Member

International Baccalaureate...
    I'm in my last year (grade 12) of "Full IB" and it's killer...
    Can any former IB students give me some words of wisdom or encouragement?
    Or any current IB students here want to share their thoughts or rant about the program?

2. fearless_fx

fearless_fx Eugooglizer

Former IB student here...

was in diploma until the middle of the first semester of grade 12, then i was like 'meh, screw it, its not worth it' and dropped TOK and IB Calculus.

Honestly, i found it was a good experience, except for the diploma portion. All the work you put in for that is ultimately meaningless. I had some 200+ hours of volunteer work and put alot of effort into the program, but I eventually decided it wasn't worth the time.. plus i was getting destroyed in IB calc.

Having IB diploma over IB certificate has no effect on university anyway. It makes more sense just to take the IB classes that will actually net you a university credit.

By getting a 5 in IB history and a 6 in IB english i managed to get 12 credit hours in university courses, which saved me a bit of cash and time.

I'd probably be more bitter about it if it wasn't for the fact that being in IB puts you amongst a group of like minded individuals. I think i made significantly more good friends by being in IB in high school than i would have being in a normal curriculum.

3. LigerZ

LigerZ Active Member

Graduate IB student here

well I graduated with the good ol' IB diploma and I must say I don't see how it has enlightened my life. It was a fun experience learning more advanced things, but is it really worth the time and money?

Well same as fearless, I got a transfer credit for IB english, IB history and IB biology. Thats 3 full year credits for university and $3000 saved in my back pocket. Plus IB calc was easy :D and fun.